Sisson elected 2017 CCAA Chairman at Annual Meeting

Sisson elected 2017 CCAA Chairman at Annual Meeting

BIRMINGHAM, Ala., Dec. 2, 2016 – Bill Sisson, President & CEO, Mobile Area Chamber of Commerce,  was elected Chairman of the Chamber of Commerce Association of Alabama (CCAA) for 2017.  In addition, five other chamber executives were elected as Board of Director members  during the association’s annual meeting at the Harbert Center.  The Annual Meeting was held as a joint meeting with the Business Council of Alabama (BCA) and CCAA.

Other CCAA officers elected for 2017 were Heather Brothers New, President, The Chamber Gadsden/Etowah County, as Chairwoman-Elect.  Crystal Brown, Vice President of Business and Investor Development, Decatur-Morgan County Chamber of Commerce, as Vice-Chair for Financial Affairs, and Diane Poole, Executive Director, Trussville Area Chamber of Commerce, as Vice-Chair for Programs.

Board members elected to three-year terms were LaTasha Cook, President, Bessemer Area Chamber of Commerce; Sheryl Smedley, Executive Director, Selma/Dallas County Chamber of Commerce; Francine Wasden, Executive Director, Greenville Area Chamber of Commerce; Dean Mitchell, Executive Director, Dothan Area Chamber of Commerce; and, Ed Rodriguez, President and CEO, Coastal Alabama Business Chamber.

Morri Yancy, President, Lake Guntersville Chamber of Commerce, was elected Past Chairwoman and CCAA President and CEO Jeremy Arthur was elected Secretary. “We have accomplished so much during this year and our association has many things for which to be thankful,” said Yancy. “We continued the great work that was done last year, hosted a number of successful events, grew our membership and positioned our association for even greater things ahead.”

Sisson presented Yancy with the Past Chairwoman’s Recognition. “Together with the board members that were just nominated and elected to serve with me, our mission will truly be ‘driving prosperity through stronger Chambers of Commerce in Alabama,” Sisson said.

In addition, Billy Canary, President and CEO, Business Council of Alabama, presented the Thompson/Seymour Leadership Award to 2014 CCAA Chairman Jim Page. “Jim is truly a visionary who continues to ‘fly the flag’ for the continued Partnership between the Chamber of Commerce Association of Alabama and the Business Council of Alabama,” Canary said.